The Tennessee state winning student will receive $1000 and a trip to Washington, DC to represent Tennessee at the national finals and compete against 52 other high school students from across the county and its territories. The winning teacher will receive $2000 in support to attend the National Poetry Out Loud Finals in Washington, DC. The first runner-up student and school will each receive $500. The second and third runner up will each receive $150. A total of $50,000 in scholarship awards and school stipends are awarded at the Poetry Out Loud National Finals, with a $20,000 college scholarship award for the National Champion.


Current State Winner

2018: Alyvia Crawley, Clarksville High School, Clarksville

Past Winners

2017: Marquavious Moore, Harding Academy, Memphis

2016: Alexia Buckner, Bolton High School, Arlington

2015: Grace Whitten, Battle Ground Academy, Franklin

2014Anita Norman, Arlington High School, Arlington – National Winner

2013: Whitney Baxter, Providence Academy, Johnson City

2012: Anita Norman, Arlington High School, Arlington

2011: Summer Awad, Harding Valley Academy, Knoxville

2010: Clifton Smith, Haywood High School, Brownsville

2009: Stacey Padilla, Harding Academy, Knoxville

2008: Evie Crowder, Lausanne Collegiate School, Memphis

2007: Austin Johnson, Davidson Academy, Nashville

Translate »